Projects‎ > ‎

Costa Eseals


  • Contacts from other colonies:
    • Lost Coast: Dawn Goley (Patricia.Goley@humboldt.edu)
    • Point Reyes: Sarah Codde (sarah_codde@nps.gov)
    • Farallon Islands: Garrett Duncan (gduncan@pointblue.org)
    • Piedras Blancas: Heather Liwanag (hliwanag@calpoly.edu)
    • TMMC: Shelbi Stoudt (Stoudts@tmmc.org)




  • Current field team
    • Field Leaders:
      • Roxanne Beltran (roxanne@ucsc.edu), Costa post-doc
      • Caroline Casey (cbcasey@ucsc.edu), Researcher
      • Dan Crocker (crocker@sonoma.edu), Professor at Sonoma State
      • Rachel Holser (rholser@ucsc.edu), Costa graduate student
      • Luis Huckstadt (lahuckst@gmail.com), Costa post-doc
      • Theresa Keates (keates.theresa@gmail.com), Costa Graduate Student
      • Sarah Kienle (sarah.stachura@gmail.com), Costa graduate student
      • Birgitte McDonald (gitte.mcdonald@gmail.com), Professor at MLML
      • Pat Morris (pamorris@ucsc.edu), Research coordinator of Año Nuevo Reserve
      • Claire Nasr (clairemnasr@gmail.com), Researcher
      • Patrick Robinson (patrick.robinson@ucsc.edu), Director of Año Nuevo Reserve
    • Additional graduate students
      • Stephanie Adamczak (sadamcza@ucsc.edu), Costa Graduate Student
      • Mason Cole (masonrcole@gmail.com), MLML Grad student
      • Lauren Cooley (lcooley@mlml.calstate.edu), MLML grad student
      • Arina Favilla (arina.favilla@gmail.com), Costa Graduate Student
      • Parker Forman (parkform@gmail.com), MLML grad student
      • Sierra Fullmer (sfullmer@mlml.calstate.edu), MLML grad student
      • Shawn Hannah (shwnhannah14@gmail.com), MLML grad student
      • Sharon Hsu (shsu.sharon@gmail.com), MLML grad student
      • Jason John (jsjohn@ucsc.edu), Williams Lab Graduate Student
      • Jennifer Johnson (jennicjohnson@gmail.com), MLML Graduate Student
      • Jessie Kendall-Bar (jkb@ucsc.edu), Costa Graduate Student
      • Theresa Naecker (theresa.naecker@gmail.com), Costa Graduate Student
      • Logan Pallin (logan.pallin@gmail.com), Costa Graduate Student
      • Caroline Rzucidlo (rzucidlo@sonoma.edu), Crocker Graduate Student
      • Daphne Shen (dshen@mlml.calstate.edu), MLML Grad Student
      • Emily Sperou (sperou@sonoma.edu), Crocker Graduate Student
      • Ana Valenzuela-Tora (Anmavale@ucsc.edu), Costa Graduate Student
      • Jordann Young (jyoung3@ucsc.edu), Costa Graduate Student
    • Additional volunteers
      • Ines Agosto (iaa62@rsmas.miami.edu), Reichmuth lab intern
      • Heidi Cheung (htcheung@ucsc.edu), undergrad
      • Jesse Cole (jedcole@ucsc.edu), undergrad
      • Roxy Cuthbertson (cuthbert.rox@gmail.com), undergrad
      • Matthew Emard (memard@ucsc.edu), undergrad
      • Caitlin Keane (cakeane@ucsc.edu), undergrad
      • Milagros Rivera (migriver@ucsc.edu), undergrad
    • Lab-only volunteers

    • Potential volunteers
      • Laura Christiansen (lkchrist@ucsc.edu), undergrad

  • Breeding season 2021 reminders:
    • Instructions for marking pups
      • Pups of green flipper-tagged moms:  use 3 digits of the mom's tag (not 4 digits, so we can differentiate mom and pup).  Also need to enter this information twice:  once in the mom's resight and once to make the pup a new animal in the database.
      • Pups of white/pink/violet tagged moms:  use the tag color code and 2 digits from the mom's tag (e.g. W12)
      • Pups of unknown moms:  each individual researcher is assigned a letter for sequential marks (e.g. 1M, 2M, 3M,... 21M, 22M, etc.)
        • Pat - M
          Rachel - H
          Patrick - P
          Caro - C
          Theresa - T
          Claire - X
        • Additional letters:  V, J, W