Projects‎ > ‎

Costa Eseals

  • Volunteer meeting presentation:  2014, Eseal Fact Sheet
  • Elephant seal resight instructions:  Click Here!
  • Public access to the eseal census data:  Click Here!
  • Resight data entry form for Docents and the general public:  Click Here!
  • Documents:
  • Instructions for marking pups
    • Pups of green flipper-tagged moms:  use 3 digits of the mom's tag (not 4 digits, so we can differentiate mom and pup)
    • Pups of white/pink/violet tagged moms:  use the tag color code and 2 digits from the mom's tag (e.g. W12)
    • Pups of unknown moms:  each individual researcher is assigned a letter for sequential marks (e.g. 1M, 2M, 3M,... 21M, 22M, etc.)
      • Pat - M
        Rachel - H
        Patrick - P
        Caro - C
        Jenni - J
        Gitte - G
        Theresa - T
        Juliette - X
      • Additional letters:  V
  • Current field team
    • Field Leaders:
      • Caroline Casey (cbcasey@ucsc.edu)
      • Rachel Holser (rholser@ucsc.edu), Costa graduate student
      • Luis Huckstadt (lahuckst@gmail.com) , Costa post-doc
      • Sarah Kienle (sarah.stachura@gmail.com), Costa graduate student
      • Birgitte McDonald (gitte.mcdonald@gmail.com), Professor at MLML
      • Liz McHuron (emchuron@ucsc.edu), Costa graduate student
      • Pat Morris (pamorris@ucsc.edu), Ano Reserve research coordinator
      • Patrick Robinson (patrick.robinson@ucsc.edu), Ano Reserve director
    • Additional graduate students
      • Heather Barrett (heather.e.barrett09@gmail.com), MLML grad student
      • Mason Cole (masonrcole@gmail.com), MLML grad student
      • Arina Favilla (arina.favilla@gmail.com), Costa Graduate Student
      • Amanda Hooper (awynnhooper@gmail.com), Crocker Graduate Student
      • Sharon Hsu (shsu.sharon@gmail.com), MLML grad student
      • Jennifer Johnson (jennicjohnson@gmail.com), MLML grad student
      • Theresa Keates (keates.theresa@gmail.com), Costa Graduate Student
      • Jessie Kendall-Bar (jkb@ucsc.edu), Costa Graduate Student
      • Michelle Modest (michellemodest@gmail.com), Costa Graduate Student
      • Logan Pallin (logan.pallin@gmail.com), Costa Graduate Student
      • Ana Valenzuela-Tora (Anmavale@ucsc.edu), Costa Graduate Student
    • Additional volunteers
      • Shannon Bent (shannonbent23@yahoo.com), undergrad
      • Roxy Cuthbertson (cuthbert.rox@gmail.com), undergrad
      • Eva Gruber (evadgruber@gmail.com), former Farallon volunteer
      • Zachary Hampson (zhampson@ucsc.edu), undergrad
      • Lora Johansen (loraKayJohansen@gmail.com), recent undergrad
      • Kelly Shrader (khshrade@ucsc.edu), recent undergrad
      • Ethan Slattery (eslatter@ucsc.edu), Undergrad
      • Christian Triana (ctriana@ucsc.edu), recent undergrad
    • Lab-only volunteers
      • Sandra Evangelista (182139)
    • Potential volunteers
      • Michelle McCune (m.mccune@sbcglobal.net), Ano Docent

                   Ano Nuevo Docents
      • Jeff Belden (jeffbelden@yahoo.com), Ano Docent, Thursdays
      • Karen Minkowski (karen.minkowski@gmail.com), Ano Docent
      • Nicole Rossi (nicolemarierossi@gmail.com), Ano Docent

  • Contacts from other colonies:
    • Lost Coast:  Dawn Goley (Patricia.Goley@humboldt.edu)
    • Point Reyes:  Sarah Codde (sarah_codde@nps.gov)
    • Farallon Islands:  Garrett Duncan (gduncan@pointblue.org)
    • Piedras Blancas:  Heather Liwanag (hliwanag@calpoly.edu)
    • TMMC:  Shelbi Stoudt <Stoudts@tmmc.org>